Another Year to be Thankful

It’s that time of year again kids. It is the time of year where I blog about things that I am thankful for! WOOOHOOOO! I have so much to be thankful for this year, but like always I will only be focusing on the main things. There has been many changes in my life this year, and I am grateful for many of them. I have had some good days and some bad days, but through it all I have some very special people in my life that I am thankful for.

The first thing I am thankful for is understanding. I have many friends, and all of them have been understanding with me. I joined the rugby team and none of the girls I met have done anything but love and accept me for who I am. I am so thankful I was able to meet people like that. I have friends outside of rugby who have done nothing but love and support me through every high and low point of my year. Even if some of them might have given me major crap for joining the rugby team… I won’t name names, but suffice it to say that I miss this person a ton even if she is sassy! Others of you have let me vent when I needed it and been there to support me regardless of how you felt about the situation. For that I thank you.

The second thing I am thankful for is being an American. I know that sounds silly, but it really isn’t. Last year at this time I was in Italy and I was really sad that I was missing out on Thanksgiving and time spent with my family. I am even more thankful this year that I am an American especially in the wake of the terror attacks in Paris. I am proud to be a citizen of a country that defends freedom and I know that we as a nation will walk hand in hand with the people of the world to defeat evil doing. This year I am thankful that I have my freedom and that I have a home unlike so many that have been fleeing the devastation in their countries. I pray that one day we will all learn to walk this earth as one human race instead of hating what we do not understand.

The third and final thing I am thankful for is my family. Some of you may know that I will soon be getting some additions to my family. I love my family more than life itself and so getting to welcome new members into it could not make me happier. My Dad has the greatest fiancé in the world. She is easily the nicest person I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and if she can stand the crazy she will be a welcome addition. My siblings and I already love her and if you have not met her yet I know you will love her after meeting her too.  I will also be getting two new brothers… I guess Nathan now has some competition for favorite brother, no pressure.  I can already tell that having more members of the family is going to be awesome and even though it is a big change it is one that I fully support.

This year I have much to be thankful for. I am lucky to be where I am and to have all of the blessings that I do. I hope this year we can examine what it is that truly matters to us in our lives and try to better ourselves for the future. Be thankful for all that you have and all that you are, and realize that even though things might seem bleak at certain times in life there is still much to give thanks for.

Leave a Reply

