Call me Maybe

When I can’t quit dwelling I know that it is time to blog it out. This week is no exception, but my topic may be a little different than my European adventures. Instead I am going to write about my girly ones. The one thing that I have noticed about myself is I always manage to mess up social situations between myself and the opposite sex. I usually refer to this melodrama as “Being a Girl”. Most girls flip out over every little thing that guys do, and I have definitely been in their shoes. I am not sure why we feel the need to flip out about everything because chances are the guys either haven’t noticed or don’t really care. To be fair though life would be so much easier if they would just pick up on the “HINTS” that girls leave and save us all the trouble of freaking out. It’s times like now that I really hate living in the decade that I do. What is the deal with couples being a “Thing”? NO! If you are a thing with someone you’re basically dating just call it what it is. I also have found that while I can’t vouch for every girl I know most of us are masters at over analyzing the crap out of everything.

It’s still weird trying to figure out how to navigate this whole college thing. I have never really been in a serious relationship and usually I don’t care, and in many ways I still really don’t. It really just kills me that I can’t figure out how to flirt with poise and dignity. I always manage to make it awkward or boring or God forbid both. I absolutely hate to text people. I really don’t know how to social media. If it weren’t so embarrassing it would almost be funny. I never can quite make myself not talk about books, politics, nerdy things, and in general any topic that completely turns people off. The last party I went to people thought my cousin and I were trying to become a thing because I can’t talk to people that I’m not related to without going full on tard or insulting them in some way. Shout out to my main gal pal MARTHA! However, this doesn’t change the fact that I am still a disappointment to the way’s of 2015. Why are there so many rules? I don’t even understand half of them, and I’m a communications major that’s a little sad.

I guess what I’m trying to say is college hasn’t really taught me how to be normal. I am still socially awkward and even though I’m not shy, I’m also not good with words. I wish it could be like the eighties where people had to actually talk on the phone and go out on dates to get to know each other. The whole concept of texting someone seems like a foreign language to me. I never know if what I am saying is being read in the correct tone of voice that I meant it to be read in, or if people even get my awkward sense of humor, most of the time they don’t. I’m going full on girl and someone should just save me from myself. I guess what I’m trying to say is “Call me Maybe”.

Leave a Reply

