I’m Back Baby

As many of you may know I am finally back home. I meant to blog sooner, but with the holidays keeping me so busy I haven’t really had the time to sit down and write. There are many things that I have noticed since I have returned to the United States that may actually surprise some of you. It’s strange because before I never would have noticed any of these things. I am really loving being home, but I am starting to miss Europe already, and I can’t wait to one day go back and see how much everything has changed since I left.

One thing that I noticed is that here in the U.S. we don’t really conserve energy. I don’t know if it is because we think we don’t have to because we have so many natural resources or what the deal is, but I have been extremely annoyed that there are no recycling bins next to the trash cans here. That alone would conserve so much and we aren’t doing it. In some ways I think that Europe has changed my outlook on some things and strengthened my resolve in other areas. I have never really thought about recycling before, but there they have recycling bins next to the trash cans in every public place. So say I bought a water bottle I could then recycle it instead of throwing it away. That isn’t the only thing.

Perhaps the greatest invention man has ever made has been making my life ten times easier since I have returned. That invention, the drier. It is so nice not to have to hang dry absolutely all of my clothing. I know it seems dumb but I have never been more thankful to have dry clothes in thirty minutes. Not that I dry all of my clothing, but not having to hang dry my socks has been amazing. That is one thing I do not miss about being abroad.

Another thing that has really been fun for me is to rediscover the American culture. The holidays were filled with amazing food and of course tons of Christmas movies! It’s great to be home and to see friends both old and new. I am getting antsy to get back to UNI and start the Spring semester. For now I am enjoying the rest of break by spending time binge watching Netflix and of course being a book worm. Here’s to 2015 being a great New Year.

Leave a Reply

