I’m Back Baby

As most of you know I am now back from Europe, and with all of the craziness from the holidays I haven’t really had time to sit down and blog since I have been back. Well, I figured it was time to dust off the old laptop and fill you all in on a few things. I have noticed a lot of differences since I have gotten back to America. I am already starting to miss Europe, and I can’t wait to go back one day and see how much things have changed. For now though I have been enjoying being home and here are a few things I have noticed.

The first thing I have noticed is that recycling really isn’t a thing here. When I was in the airport in Chicago there was not a recycling bin to be found. At least none in plain sight that I could find. In Europe they have a recycling bin next to almost every trash can. This makes recycling so much more convenient. I don’t know if we don’t think we have to because we have so many natural resources or what, but I think that is one thing we should be doing. I have found that in some ways being abroad has changed my perspective on some things and strengthened my resolve in other areas.

The one thing that I have been loving since I have been back is in my opinion the greatest invention man has ever created. This remarkable invention is, the drier. I can not even begin to describe how nice it is to not have to hang dry my clothes. Having dry clothes in thirty minutes feels like a miracle. Not having to hang dry my socks may have been the best Christmas present ever.

I think the best part of being home though was rediscovering my home and some of the good ole’ American culture. The food and festivities over the holidays were amazing, but like most people it is a new year so it’s time to buckle down and get back to work. I am starting to get a little antsy to go back to school. I don’t know if I am ready for the Spring Semester to start because I have been enjoying binge watching Netflix, reading like the nerd I am, and catching up with friends both old and new. Like all good things break will eventually come to an end, and I’m excited to see what 2015 has in store for me. I’m back baby and I can’t wait to see what my next adventure will be!

Leave a Reply

