The Sinking City: Venice

My time in Italy is coming to an end faster than I thought it would. I had a few more places that I wanted to travel to, and for my last adventure I decided to go to Venice. Venice is one of those places that is it’s own kind of place. There is no place like it on the planet and it is a must see for anyone that loves to travel. I went this weekend with my friend Colleen, who I met in Switzerland on a different trip, as a last big trip because towards the end of the semester we are too busy with studying and the old bank account is not what it was at the beginning of the semester. I have been extremely lucky to get to travel as much as I have, and now I have three weekend left to enjoy Florence the way that it should be enjoyed. I figured that if I lived here for the semester I should probably go see the sites in my own city. However, this blog is not about Florence it is about Venice.

Venice is one of the coolest places I have ever been. For starters the whole city is sinking so the streets are made up completely of water canals. Some things that Venice is famous for are their beautiful masquerade masks and their glass. When we went Colleen and I were able to see a glass blowing demonstration. The people that glass blow are typically men and the skill is passed from father to son through generations. You could tell when watching a demonstration like that, that it is a skill which has been acquired from a young age. The man that did our demonstration made a glass vase with a beautifully intricate handle in under five minutes flat. If that doesn’t impress you then I give up. Afterwards Colleen and I did what girls do best, we went shopping!

I had tons of fun in Venice and I can’t really tell you what I bought when I went shopping because some of you may be getting presents from there. 😉 Venice was definitely a beautiful place and I am beyond grateful that I was able to see so much and learn so much about such a unique city. It was definitely my favorite place in Italy that I have been to. For all of you travellers that want to conquer Italy make sure that you go to Venice. There truly is no way to describe it sometimes you just have to take it all in for yourself. My days here are numbered and I am going to take the chance to see the rest of the place where I live. Florence has been the experience of a life time for me, and I know that I will want to see it all while I can in the best way possible. I will see you all soon and I hope you have a great Thanksgiving! Eat some Turkey for me! IMG_2155 IMG_2157 IMG_2170 IMG_2165

Leave a Reply

