This is Five and I SURVIVED!

This week was a pretty crazy week for me. I had tons of fun this week and the weekend was no exception. As some of you may know I went to see T-Pain perform at one of the night clubs here in Florence on Wednesda. Not to burst anyone’s bubble but I will just tell you now I wasn’t very impressed. The club was fun but it was packed and there wasn’t very much room to breathe let alone dance. T-Pain didn’t come on until one thirty in the morning, and one of my roommates, Andrea and I decided to go back around two thirty. That’s early in case you didn’t know. So moral of the story don’t waste your money going to his show. Sorry not sorry!

The next day two of my other roommates Courtney and Trisha asked if I would want to go to the Swiss Alps for the weekend. We booked it the day of and then left that night at nine pm for Interlaken. The town itself is called Interlaken because in Latin it means between the lakes, and the city literally sits between two lakes. We got to our hostel at about six fifteen in the morning and I was running on zero sleep. We got in a quick two hour nap and then the rest of the day we did whatever we wanted to. In the late morning Courtney and I went hiking on one of the mountain trails with a girl named, Bree.  Trish went sky diving with the other girl we met named Mary Ann. The two girls we met are studying abroad in Rome for the semester so I am sure we will be seeing them again soon. The hike was beautiful and I took so many pictures I was starting to feel like an Asian tourist…. No offense.

That night after we got back from hiking we went to the chocolate demonstration at one of the local restaurants, that also sells chocolate. Obviously we ate plenty of chocolate and then later tried some cheese fondue. Let me just say the chocolate was definitely amazing, but I was a little disappointed in the fondue. It was not as good as I thought it would be, but then again after eating the best chocolate you have ever had any other food really just doesn’t stand a chance. After that we went to the Irish Pub in town and had some beers, and the rest of the group we traveled with went out that night. The night life in Switzerland was pretty good for how small the town was that we were in. We met some cool locals and we all had a blast.

The next day Courtney and I decided that if Trish, who is a total bad ass, could jump out of a plane we could at least suck it up and jump of the side of a mountain. We signed up to go paragliding and I am so glad that we did. For those of you that don’t know I am absolutely terrified to fly so this was kind of a huge deal for me to willingly fling myself into the sky. Courtney is afraid of heights so as you can imagine we were quiet the pair. It was easily one of the best experiences of my life. I could see the whole city and the mountains as well as both of the lakes. I was up higher than the birds. I only know that because I saw them flying down below me. My flight time was about twenty minutes and Courtney was waiting for me on the ground when I landed.

I absolutely loved Switzerland and I am beyond excited to go and explore more and to do more. I would definitely recommend visiting Interlaken if you ever get the chance, especially if you are an adrenaline junky! I say this because not only is it one of the most beautiful places I have ever been, but the locals are also super friendly and there is literally so many extreme sports it was hard to choose only one thing to do. I can’t wait to see where else my adventure will take me, but I don’t think I will be jumping off the side of a mountain again anytime soon. Once was definitely enough for me, but I SURVIVED!!!

IMG_0747DCIM101MEDIAIMG_0749

Leave a Reply

