Never Grow Up

I always wondered what it would be like to be and adult. What would it be like once I could do grown up things like drive and live on my own, as a child I was always in a hurry to grow up. Most kids want to be older as soon as possible. When you are little you think that being a “Big Kid” is the greatest thing in the world. Little do kids know that when you are older all you want to do is go back to your childhood. Now that I am a little older and I guess you could say wiser, all I want to do is go back to being little.

When you are little the world is full of magic. There are endless possibilities and nothing is out of your reach. You can be a princess, a mermaid, or even a professional dancer. Kids look at the world through eyes of wonder. Everything is new and nothing bad can happen. As you get older the world starts to hold less wonder, people aren’t as nice as they used to be, and dreams are for those who sleep. Little by little the world takes away some of the magic you held. Little by little you begin to realize that all of the things you believed to be true weren’t. We learned something interesting today in my Mass Communications class. The reason we take so many pictures of occasions like birthday parties and not funerals, is because when you get older you realize that the world sucks. You want to hold on to as much happiness as possible before the world inevitably takes it away. The teacher’s words not mine

Being little wasn’t all fun and games though. Remember when you hated taking naps? I am willing to bet any college student will tell you that nap time now is a way of life. Remember when you didn’t want to take a bath. Appreciate it because in college the showers actually suck. Do you remember being jealous that Mom and Dad got to go to work while you had to go to day care? Getting a job and working for your money isn’t as fun as you thought it would be trust me. How about when your clothes were magically cleaned and put away. Yeah, dream on Mom or Dad don’t have time to do your laundry. They are too busy going to school events for your other siblings, or if you are an only child taking your dog to the groomers. Let’s be honest here the cats are likely to get more attention than you, and guess what Ben, my Dad, doesn’t even like cats. What does that tell you?

All I have really wanted to do all week is take a break from college. Not because I don’t like college. Actually I love it here. I guess what I am trying to say is I want a break from my impending doom as an adult. I don’t really want to grow up, and sometimes I get really jealous that Peter Pan never did. He was smarter than all of us. Wendy well I guess she was blonde, so really we can’t fault her for being dumb. I want one week to be a kid again. Can you imagine going on a vacation where all you did was little kid things all week. I would probably call it “A Blast from the Past”, simply because it is kind of true, and really who isn’t a fan of irony?

Leave a Reply

