Moving Forward

Life is hard. Some people like to say that life really is not complicated people are. I am a firm believer in both. Life is never easy. It will throw you curve balls and knock you down, but it is also about how you react to the situation that you are in. I thought that when I graduated high school that I was going to go to Mount Mercy University and become a nurse. I was wrong. Nursing while rewarding for some made me miserable. I did not want to have to talk to someone that was sick about their symptoms, or see someone pass away with their family all by their side. I had been through to much death and grief. I was so tired of it, and the fact that I hate math and science really did not help the matter.

This year I am a communications major and digital studies minor at the University of Northern Iowa. Truthfully UNI is the perfect fit for me and I am eternally grateful to all of the people that supported me in my decision to transfer schools. Life is never easy but we have to take it in stride. I have met so many great people along the way that it is impossible to name them all. College is all about exploring. It is not just the exploration of your future. It is so much more than that. It is the exploration of the world, ourselves, and life itself.

This year I have lost a total of 50 lbs. I am 22 lbs. away from my weight goal and I have never looked or felt better. I wanted so badly to be able to lose weight in high school. I went on diet after diet and killed myself working out. It never worked. I always gave up or sabotaged myself. I felt like being fat was why people did not like me and ever since I can remember I struggled with my weight. I have worked hard to get where I am at. Now of course I have to eat like a rabbit, but I will be a rabbit for the rest of my life if it means i can be this happy forever. The feeling I get when people who have not seen me for awhile do not even recognize me is the greatest feeling in the world.

My life was forever changed after the passing of my mother. People were there for me who I never thought would be and people who I expected to be there for me were not. I have risen from the ashes, but I am far from finished. I am still in college and I am still moving forward. My dream is to one day move to Kansas City or Nashville and do what I love most, sing. The journey will be long and hard, but I have learned that anything worth having in life is worth working hard for. I do not have all of the answers and maybe I never will, but as long as I never stop trying I can not fail. Just try and Stop me!

1000599_10202363031582356_1168612461_n

Leave a Reply

